First Time Ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Ducklings199, Aug 17, 2014.

1. Ducklings199

Ducklings199 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 17, 2014
    Hi! This is my first time on the forum.
    I've got 3 Campbells, a White, Blue and Apricot.
    I'm having a bit of trouble picking the ducklings up as they seem to be scared of my hand. I only try to move them when it is necessary but I'm worried about hurting them. Is there any tricks I can use, to help them feel happy when they are lifted.

2. Taluhla106

Taluhla106 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 17, 2014
    When you go to pick them up, gently wrap your hands around their wings to their stomach area. If they are still pretty small, then you can take one hand and do so, then bring them up near your chest with your other hand under their feet. By now they've probably laid down in your hand. The only way you could hurt them is if you drop them or grab their legs. Another thing that may help is if you are watching your ducks and notice one if them has gone to the bathroom, pick that one up first!!!

3. Eluria

Eluria Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 31, 2014
    I would love to see pics of your babies!

4. Orca5094

Orca5094 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2014
    Sweden
    Yes, just move slowly and support their feet. They tend to flip out when their feet are left dangling in the air. You can also try hand-feeding them treats so they get more used to your hands being near them. Then they won't see you as such a threat, but a giver of goodies! :)

5. AmandaVirus

AmandaVirus Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2013
    Humboldt County, CA