first time for chokes need advice.

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by baemiller, Mar 4, 2015.

1. baemiller

baemiller Out Of The Brooder

Mar 4, 2015
    Okay so I am new to this. I did what all the books said to do picked a breed, got supplies, got chicks, I knew some had a small chance of dying but man first day home. I don't know if I am doing this right. is this gonna be like bringing a new puppy home? If so I am game I will do what's necessary I just don't want to mess this up. Any advice on what to expect the first week. Can I leave home for a few hours? That sort of thing.
    thanks guys for any advice.
    tawnie

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    Your best bet is to go to the learning center. Read all you can about raising chicks, then, if you have specific questions, you can come back and ask them. Yes, once they're settled, eating well, and you're sure they're secure in your brooder, and you have a breatheable cover to keep them from flying out, and the temp is adjusted so that they will have 90 - 95* under the lamp (for the first few days, then decrease the temp 5*/week), and an other area in the brooder that is MUCH cooler (I like to see it around 70, or even lower) Then, you can leave them.

3. baemiller

Mar 4, 2015
    I found this DIY brooder made from a rubber made bin thought great will work perfect since I have a big one. Now not so sure. It keeps the whole container toaster warm.? I have 8 chicks so I am guessing I an area in my garage is in the near future?

4. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    I love being able to give advice to someone who is raising chicks for the first time. By the way, welcome to BYC! You'll have fun here.