first time hatcher- havinng trouble regulating my new bator temp

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by aubreynoramarie, Jan 26, 2011.

1. aubreynoramarie

aubreynoramarie designated lawn flamingo

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada
    okay i have never done this before and i only have room in my coop to do one hatch so i need to do this right. My boyfriend bought me a bator for my birthday, and i have been trying for two days to get the temperature regulated! i didnt know it was going to be this hard!
    (it is a "little giant circulated air incubator with forced fan kit". the only incubator they had that hold more than three chicks.)

I seriously have four thermometers in there right now and they all say something different. i am so frustrated and confused. Is it imperitive that the temperature in there be 99.5 exactly? I have one reading 98 degrees, one at 103, one at 95 and on at 99. [​IMG] my eggs will hopefully be here within the next week and im so nervous that im going to screw this up!

..and i havent even put the water in to measure the humidity yet!

*sigh* someone please help and make me feel better [​IMG]

2. aubreynoramarie

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada
    [​IMG]

3. RareBreedFancier

RareBreedFancier Surrounded by Broodies

Nov 5, 2010
    Australia :)
    Your going to need to know what it actually is in there and obviously your thermometers are reading different.

There is info on here about how to calibrate them but you'd have to search for it because I haven't done it. Then pick ONE to use or they will drive you crazy.

I have two bought from the same place, same batch and they read different. I made sure I put the second one in the 'bator with the first to check the reading and then moved it to the hatcher and made sure it read the same as it did in the 'bator. Looks like I'll have a perfect hatch (6 of 7 out so far) but according to the thermometer the temp has been off all lockdown.

4. Baralak

Baralak Chillin' With My Peeps