First time hatcher question???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by silkymom1986, Oct 11, 2011.

1. silkymom1986

silkymom1986 The Silkie Villa

Sep 28, 2011
    Byhalia, MS
    Yesterday was hatch day for my 11 wellsummer eggs, this is my first time incubating. 5 pipped around noon yesterday and 1 hatched about 8:30 last night, since then there has been no other progress from the others that pipped, no zipping, and still 6 with nothing, is this normal? I am worried about the others but I dont know if I am just overreacting since this is my first time? I have read that once the first one hatches the rest usually follow pretty close behind, can anyone help please?

2. h4ppy-chris

h4ppy-chris Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2011
    burnley, UK
    1 of mine took 32 hour to get out of it's shell so sit tight and don't open the bator good luck.

3. silkymom1986

Sep 28, 2011
    Byhalia, MS
    I haven't opened it, the chick that hatched last night is panting alot, is that normal?

4. AV Brahmas

AV Brahmas Out Of The Brooder

Sep 30, 2011
    The Great White North
    OK...opening/not opening is not such a big deal. Mom gets up and moves and eats and does this every day. It is part of incubation. If you think your little guy is ready for the brooder than open up and snatch him out. Humidity will return. If you have some half way out I would leave it shut just to be sure they don't get glued in the shell.

Eggs that do not have even a pip on them at this stage might just not be fertile or may have died in the shell. It happens a lot. Put hatched chicks in the brooder. Leave the others for a couple more days. If no sign of pipping, wrap your hand around one and see if you can feel a tapping inside. If nothing then probably best to turn your attention to the brooder chicks.