First time hatching chicks

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chickenlover772, Apr 2, 2017.

1. chickenlover772

chickenlover772 New Egg

Apr 2, 2017
    Please help, this is my first time ever hatching chicks. I had a bantam rooster in with my 9 hens and 2 other roosters outside of the coop; one was a rhode island red and the other was a barred rock. I was already planning on hatching eggs after spring break but my dog killed all of the roosters after being let out so, we gathered the eggs from the coop of that day and a couple of days later. We ended up having 24 eggs all together. After doing some research online, I bought an incubator the next day and set it up to the correct temperature and humidity levels. We put the eggs in the incubator that night, following all of the instructions: like to stop rotating the eggs on day 18 and keeping up the humidity. We also candled them and saw the chicks in the white eggs moving around. The temperature has moved a little bit up and down but no drastic changes during the 21 days. What I didn't know was that you couldn't open the incubator after that day. I think the incubator was opened 3 or 4 times after day 18. Today is day 21. 1 chick luckily hatched yesterday but other than that, I haven't heard or seen any evidence of the eggs hatching. I've only heard the hatched chick peep. I don't know what to do, I hope I didn't ruin the chance of them hatching.

Last edited: Apr 2, 2017
  2. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    :welcome!

You can open the incubator; the 'fact' that you can't is a myth. I do it all the time, being a hands on hatcher. So you didn't ruin your hatch by doing that.

Do you have any further external pips? If you want to check the progress of the other eggs, feel free to candle them and see if you have any internal pips. Just try to get the humidity back up quickly after opening the incubator if you have any external pips.