First time hatching fertile eggs with broody!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by RingneckParrot, Jan 27, 2013.

1. RingneckParrot

RingneckParrot Out Of The Brooder

Oct 8, 2012
    Sydney, NSW
    Hi well yesterday I went to my relatives for Australia Day and they gave me a dozen fertile light Sussex eggs which was great because I have a really broody buff Sussex cross Isa brown that is keen to hatch out some babies. She constantly goes broody so I usually have to 'break her off the brood' as I can not buy fertile eggs at the time. It is my first time and don't really know what to do. Biddy (the broody) lives with her friend, a light Sussex cross Isa brown in a smallish coop that has a layer compartment, roosting area and a small run. I am a bit worried that if I leave her friend, Speckle, in there that she might take over the clutch or Biddy might try to protect her young and accidently trample them if Speckle is in there. I do have a bigger coop with four other chooks and Speckle is fine in there with them so maybe I might have to move her in there for the time being whilst Biddy is sitting on her clutch? Or will Biddy feel too uncomfortable on her own and abandon the nest??? I don't know :( I am just really eager to see my girl raise her own family and I just want to do everything right. Sorry about so many questions! Oh and I almost forgot. I heard that as Sussex are quite big birds they tend to squash their young sometimes so would it be better to have a small nesting area or a large? If it is too large will the eggs roll out from under her? Or if too small she might squash them...... btw, I don't know how old the eggs are.. I'd say they are less than a week old so I guess the sooner the better under Biddy!!
    Thankyou so much! I appreciate all your help!!

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia