First time hatching. .....help!

farmchix88

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 7, 2014
baldwin, md
I got a LG 9300 incubator. My eggs are due to arrive late next week. I've set up the incubator to play with it and fine tune before I actually attempt to hatch something since this is my first time. I can't get the humidity stable. I have a digital thermometer plus the one that's attached to the incubator. The temps are fairly close, like by a degree. But the humidity is all over the place. Right now one is saying 75 (on incubator) and the other is saying 30 (the separate hygrometer). I have a sponge in a bowl with water. Both vents are open. What am I doing wrong??

You don't seem to be doing anything wrong. I am not experienced with your model of incubator, but my incubator's built in hygrometer DOES NOT MOVE. It was very irritating. The company didn't even send an external one. I bought a new hygrometer, and it worked fine. Your extra hygrometer seems to be on-point. Also, the humidity is hard to control for the first few days, but after a while it just settles in. It has done this for about every one of my hatches for the first day or two. Its normal.

I got a LG 9300 incubator. My eggs are due to arrive late next week. I've set up the incubator to play with it and fine tune before I actually attempt to hatch something since this is my first time. I can't get the humidity stable. I have a digital thermometer plus the one that's attached to the incubator. The temps are fairly close, like by a degree. But the humidity is all over the place. Right now one is saying 75 (on incubator) and the other is saying 30 (the separate hygrometer). I have a sponge in a bowl with water. Both vents are open. What am I doing wrong??