First time hatching

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by everythingjane, May 9, 2009.

1. everythingjane

everythingjane Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2009
    Northern Indiana
    This is my first attempt at hatching.. I'm using a Little Giant with turner. Just put the eggs in last night. I've taken the plugs out of the top and the humidity is steady at 65%.. Is this too high?
    The temperature is also steady.. although It's hard to tell what it is.. I bought a digital outdoor thermometer w/ humidity readout.. It's consistently 99-100 degrees.. The thermometer that came with the incubator reads 3-4 degrees higher.

Last edited: May 9, 2009
  2. firedove

firedove Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2008
    Fitzwilliam NH
    Bring your humidity down to 45% or so until the last few days before hatch (when 65% will be about right). I don't know how accurate a LG thermometer is, maybe someone on here can help you out with that. I know a lot of people like to average their two thermometers, since very few thermometers are spot on. Is the LG still air? If so you want the temp to stay around 101 degrees.

I wish you the best of luck with your hatch!!! [​IMG] I'm just at the end of my very first hatch with 18 set, one total dud, 7 hatched [​IMG] , 2 apparent quitters [​IMG] , 1 still working on zipping [​IMG] , and 7 still with no outward signs of doing anything [​IMG] .

3. everythingjane

Mar 8, 2009
    Northern Indiana
    I forgot to mention that I took some water out earlier, but no change in humidity. How do I lower it??
    The incubator is in the basement.. I'm going to try measuring the humidity in the room itself..
    Thanks!

4. jenjscott

jenjscott Mosquito Beach Poultry

May 24, 2008
    Southeast Arkansas