1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

First time having my own chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rickie, Feb 15, 2016.

1. Rickie

Rickie New Egg

Jan 30, 2016
    This is my first time having my own chickens I got them from someone off the party line witch is a Radio station where I live the guy I got them from said they were road island reds but I believe there mixed with something else because I built my own incubator a have hatched out 11 baby chicks out of 23 and I have some that came out solid black with legs the size of a pencil at two weeks old some yellow with off brown and one that looks like a quail

2. egglover123

egglover123 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2016
    Out with the girls!
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    Rickie welcome to BYC!
    There is a What Breed Or Gender is This? forum on the site you might try your question there.
    Good luck!

3. CTKen

CTKen Monkey business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Rickie and welcome to our forum. Theres lots of info in the learning centre - but I'm guessing since you have already build your tractor, you know that already [​IMG] You may find your state thread useful in putting you in contact with other BYC members nearby also. Congrats on the incubator build and your new chicks - i wish i could do DIY, but alas, I'm all fingers and thumbs!

All the best
    CT

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana