First time homesteading

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Okra, Feb 8, 2017.

1. Okra

Okra New Egg

Feb 8, 2017
    Oklahoma
    My family is going to be moving to a few acres soon and we have decided we will have a small backyard homestead. We are adopting chickens, goats, and possibly alpaca later on. Only two of us have ever lived in the country and cared for any of these animals. Does anybody have any tips and any idea what the yearly cost would be for chickens and goats would be? Also an idea of how many and what age to adopt would be very helpful! Also non-expensive chicken coops and barn ideas for the goats would be highly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Hannah H.

Last edited: Feb 8, 2017
  2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under Okra [​IMG] Welcome!

Sorry, living smack bang in the middle of suburbia, I have no homesteading experience whatsoever. However, some of our regular greeters who should be along shortly may be able to assist or you might like to try posting on the Self Sufficiency Forum: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/16177/diy-self-sufficiency or
    Other Pets & Livestock Forum: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/22/other-pets-livestock

You might want to also pop in and say hello on your local thread: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you ‘Find your State’s thread.

I hope you enjoy being a BYC member. There are lots of friendly and very helpful folks here so not only is it overflowing with useful information it is also a great place to make friends and have some fun. Unlike non chicken loving friends, family and colleagues, BYC’ers never tire of stories or pictures that feature our feathered and non feathered friends [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Hannah and welcome to BYC - great that you have joined us and exciting times ahead, I'm sure.