First time incubating as a momma, All tips welcomed.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MamaChick73, Apr 3, 2017.

1. MamaChick73

MamaChick73 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2017
    Florida
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    This is my first time ever incubating in a Hovabator. I am hand turning them 2 times a day.. I have bought all my eggs on EBay. Some made it in one piece and some had 3-4 broken. I have been so careful with temps. I have a thermometer on top of my eggs and one below. They differ about 1/2 a degree which I can live with. I lost all of the first batch due to a climb in temp to 104, ( that was on my home made cooler incubator). The humidity on my hovabator is perfect 50-59 and my second batch is progressing very well. When candling I find 4 out of five have movement and veins. The darker eggs are almost impossible to see through and it's frustrating. I have named my eggs (Is that weird)? I include two pictures of day 7 development. The "Chickoletta" egg looks great with lots of veins and movement. The second is "Belle" and also has great movement. I have so much trouble seeing through dark shells because I can not tell if the dark spot is the yoke or a chick. Blood vessels are impossible to see or even the black spot. I worry too because the air cell seems to be on one side of the egg and not the top of the egg. I don't want to throw it out as there is still a chance I'm just not able to see through the dark shell. What are some great tips on candling dark eggs? Thanks everyone for your patience with a newbie. :D:D

Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
  2. br0nc0

br0nc0 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 14, 2017
    Slovenia
    Well the egg in the pic looks good in my opinion.. I would turn them at least 3 times a day though... That is so they don't always spent the night on the same side (for example 9 am, 3 pm and 9 pm). Maybe the humidity is a bit too high (45-50 works best for me) but that depends on you climate and other factors.