First time incubating for rookie chicken man

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cglgolf, Dec 1, 2014.

1. cglgolf

cglgolf New Egg

Nov 17, 2014
    We have 18 Rhodebar eggs we ordered off Ebay in the incubator for our first attempt at hatching eggs. Day 11 it appears that we have 10 to 12 that look like they are good so far. After candling them last night it appears that we have 6 to 7 that are just clear with nothing in them. I am scared to throw them out, is this normal? Oh well the kids are excited with the possibility off hatching some eggs on Dec. 11.

Brooding ideas are welcome, again I am a rookie chicken man so I do not have a clue what to do next.

Chris

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Go to the learning center tab and then visit hatching and raising chicks.

Leave all the chicks in the incubator until all are done hatching. Opening the incubator will cause humidity loss and the remaining chicks will get stuck in their shells.

Brood the chicks in the largest space you can. Just as though they were with a mother hen, they need a hot spot and plenty of cool space. I start them off on paper towels for good footing. Sprinkle some food on the floor till they know what food is. They'll eat whatever is at their feet. Put a chick feeder in with them too. After a couple days, you can switch from paper towels to pine shavings for bedding.
    Keep the bedding bone dry.
    Elevate the food and water so the rim is about back high. Continue to elevate as they grow. They'll scratch bedding so elevating containers will help keep them cleaner.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

They don't spend that much time under after the first week so they don't need nor should have the whole space to be hot.
    [​IMG]

I like this type of reel top feeder for a few chicks so they can't stand on it.

[​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. cglgolf

cglgolf New Egg

Nov 17, 2014
    Awesome information, thank you so much.