First Time Incubating

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CHICKENFARMER22, Mar 22, 2017.

1. CHICKENFARMER22

CHICKENFARMER22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2013
    This is my first time incubating eggs. I am now on day 17. I first put the eggs in on a Sunday night at 11 p.m. My question is, does day 18 start tonight at 11 p.m.? Also, I have a Little Giant 9300 still air incubator. How many water trays do I fill up for the humidity on day 18? Do I need wet paper towels in there too? I appreciate the help.

Thanks,
    Kristian

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    An egg does not have a full day’s development 2 seconds or 2 hours after it goes in the incubator. It takes 24 hours for an egg to have a day’s worth of development. So when you start counting days you say “one” 24 hours after the egg goes in the incubator. An easy way to check your counting is that the day of the week the egg goes in is the day of the week the 21 days are up. Since you put them in on a Sunday, the 21 days are up on a Sunday. Your 18 days will be up on a Thursday.

Lockdown does not have to be that precise, not to the hour. You don’t have to lockdown at exactly 11:00 pm. If you lock down sometime late Thursday you’ll be fine. Friday morning should work too.

I don’t have an LG so I can’t comment on number of trays. What did the instructions say that came with it, assuming it had instructions?

Do you have a hygrometer to measure humidity? Different people have different opinions on what the “best” humidity is during lockdown, but I prefer anything above 65%. I don’t care if it goes to 80% or even greater which it often does when they start to hatch and release all that extra moisture, I just want it at least 65%.

3. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    Xs 2
    I prefer 70-75 for start of hatching, because I don't leave my bator closed, but I always say at least 65% too.