First Time Incubator Hatch, Help!

thepromise

In the Brooder
9 Years
May 26, 2010
Orange County
This is my first time using an incubator to hatch chicks.
smile.png
My neighbor was throwing out an old still air incubator and i asked if i could have it. So I ordered shipped eggs from Ebay and now i have 30+ eggs ready to hatch. I am on day 18 and Im going into lockdown tonight. The eggs should be hatching July 3rd or 4th. I hope its the 4th.
jumpy.gif
But when I got the eggs two of the eggs were cracked. I was going to toss them out, but I just couldnt. So I decided to tape the eggs on the cracked parts and put them in. The egg with a little crack never developed. But the one with a huge crack has devloped. So my question is should i take the tape off before lockdown or keep it on? Will i break the egg if i take the tape off? Or if i leave it on will the chick ne strong enough to rip through the tape when it hatches? Has anyone ever done this? Any Advice would be great. This is my first hatch using an incubator, so cross your fingers for me.
fl.gif

incubator.jpg

Tappy1.jpg

Tappy2.jpg

I Know the pictures arent that great, but Any help on what to do will be great. Thanks Ahead of time.
smile.png

Last edited:
I have no idea. I am just interested to see if taping is successful. I have heard that bacteria can form in the egg and cause problems. I have always just tossed the eggs that had even a hair line crack. I am watching to see what happens with your egg!

My guess would be to leave it on because if you take it off the egg might lose moisture too quickly and shrink wrap the baby if it's still alive.

If your on Day 18, then Hatch Day would be on the 2nd & Lock Down would be Tomorrow. The last three days are lock down which is when you up the humidity. (Days 19-21) but yes the hatch can take a couple days longer. Good luck with your hatch, ~Julie~