First time incubator little giant

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dragon bait, Feb 10, 2014.

1. dragon bait

dragon bait Out Of The Brooder

Dec 2, 2013
    Carriere Ms
    This is my first time trying to incubate eggs. I have read till my eyes are bleeding. Here is what i am doing and just looking for any input.
    It has been stable for 2 days
    I have added a acurite thermometer/hydrometer for a better feel of what is going on. my temps with the thermometer laying on its side for better viewing is 100 degrees and humidity is 20 percent. I am only doing 3 eggs, i have added 3 16 oz bottles of water for a heat sink and to help keep it warm when i open it to move the eggs around, I do not have a fan or egg turner, i plan on rolling the eggs around 3 times a day. and the eggs are laying on their side
    What have i forgot or need to do?
    Thank you for looking
    Ray

Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  2. alaskanchickens

alaskanchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2014
    South central Alaska
    That sounds great! I am on day 3 with 29 eggs in the incubator. I am also turning by hand 3x's per day but do have a fan. The water bottles are a great idea! I thought about putting sterilized massage stones in mine in case the power went out (which it only seems to do when it's -20 outside!). Sounds like you've got it all under control! I am a nervous wreck as this is my first hatch, and the eggs were shipped, and they're chocolate eggs to boot! Good luck with your hatch!

3. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT