First time, not sure what went wrong

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by lemonie12, Jun 15, 2016.

1. lemonie12

lemonie12 New Egg

Jun 15, 2016
    Any advice would be great...

This is my first time incubating eggs. My first chick hatch exactly at 21 days!! But no others hatch, today is day 26. I have read that it is not uncommon for some to not hatch on day 26 given the temp, humidity or the age of the egg. This little fella is one of 16 eggs. I'm at a loss ... I didn't expect all the eggs to hatch my first round but it seems rather odd that only one did and 15 did not. We candled most of them half way through and saw dark spots or lines in most of them. (I figured I'd leave them all in to see what happens.) The temp has stayed consistent and the humidity is has also stayed in the recommended window. Im not sure why but I did find it weird that after my chick hatched the humidity was wanting to stay around 65-70%, instead of 60-65%. When it was higher I'd crack the incubator to pull it back down to around 60%.

Any thoughts or suggestions??

At this point I don't think the rest will hatch but I don't have the heart to toss them just yet :-(

Should I try the warm water test? I haven't seen any signs of pipping.

What did I do wrong?

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY