First time owner! Any experience with Golden Laced Wyandotte colors?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickienewbie88, Mar 25, 2015.

1. chickienewbie88

chickienewbie88 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2015
    West Virginia
    This is my first time owning chickens (actually any bird for that matter) and so far Im LOVING it, but ive definitely realized that I dont know NEARLY what I should!! Anyway, i purchased 6 1 day old Golden Laced Wyandotte pullets from Mount Healthy. Now theyre a week old and growing so quickly!! It amazes me how quickly they learn new things.. I spend hours just watching them in the brooder!! Ive noticed, though, that one little girl isnt growing as fast as the others. Shes about half their size. They dont seem to pick on her or anything though. Also, her markings are the same as the others, but she is VERY pale yellow, almost a shimmery silver in color with black. Do you guys think she could possibly a different color of Wyandotte that got mixed in with the Goldens? Have any of you experienced anything similar? I love her just the same of course, but shes so different looking as the days go by that im beginning to wonder! As bad as this sounds, i also have to add that she doesnt seem to be as "bright" as the others either.. I know for sure she came out of the Golden box (my father in law owns a hardware store and he ordered 100 total, i was there when he unpacked them). Thanks for any input you guys have!!!

2. SJchickens

SJchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2015
    Long Island, NY
    Here's the Wikipedia Wyandotte page. It lists all of the recognized types: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyandotte_chicken

I have 4 Wyandottes, 2 Goldens, 2 silvers. They are about a week and a half, and they are just starting to grow into their big girl feathers. Have your chicks begun, too? You could try looking at her's to see if they match the others'. She sounds so interesting! Do you have any pictures of her?