First Time Raising Chickens... Need Advice

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by vbaron2010, Jul 23, 2013.

1. vbaron2010

vbaron2010 Hatching

Jun 29, 2013
    Hello,

I have a small flock of mix breed chickens. 6 hens and 2 roos. I'm pretty sure that's what I got anyways. I got day olds from a local lady that hatches eggs out a few times a year. Mine were actually hatched at a 4th grade class!
    They are 5 weeks old today and I just moved them to their coop and run a couple days ago. They are living harmoniously with my rabbit.
    My question is....
    When do I switch them off chick starter?
    Do I switch them to a poultry grower food or a layer pellet?
    I have a 4' X 4' Tractor style coop that is about 2' off the ground in a run. Should I leave the food and water inside the coop area, or hang it underneath the structure?

Just curious to see what other people have tried. I am new to the chicken thing.
    Thanks!

2. CherishHolland

CherishHolland Songster

Apr 16, 2013
    Canyon Texas

I would keep them on starter until about 10 weeks old then switch them to a grower then when they start laying switch them to a layer feed or you can feed them an All flock feed which is starter/grower/layer and when the gals start laying offer oyster shell as free choice. (this is what I feed my flock of mixed ages)

As far as where you want to put their food/water station that is your choice,in our run I have 5 watering stations and 5 feed areas but I also have a flock of 60+

One thing I would look into is adding more pullets because 6 pullets to 2 cockerels is not a good mix general rule of thumb is for every one rooster have 10 hens that way the rooster won't over mate them and cause them to be stressed from over mating.

Best of luck Enjoy your chicken adventures
    Cherish

3. Epreciado

Epreciado In the Brooder

Apr 29, 2012
    Hi,