First time raising chicks, can you tell me what breed these are?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by kurui, Feb 20, 2015.

1. kurui

kurui Out Of The Brooder

Feb 20, 2015
    Hi! This is my first time posting. About four months ago my mum and I got four red sex link gallinas from the local chicken man (We live in Spain) and sadly one of them died. I was really upset- and then for my birthday she managed to get these three babies, I'm raising them in a cardboard box with a heatlamp, it's very exciting! They are almost three weeks old, and they come from (as far as I know) a flock of sussex and barnevelders, but I don't know whether the chicks are crosses or what. Could you help me work out what these babies will look like when they're grown up? I'm trying to pick names, but it's tricky!

The two dark ones are female and the pale one is the male.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks!

Last edited: Feb 20, 2015
  2. Kev

Kev Overrun With Chickens

Jan 13, 2008
    Sun City, California
    Hmm, all three look boy-ish.

The two look very strongly of a cross with a barred rock. If you know the flock did not have a barred rock rooster, only barred rock hen or hens, then those two are boys for sure. That is because the gene for making the white bars on their feathers is a sex linked gene... if you breed a sussex or barnevelder rooster with a barred rock hen, the boys will be born black with a white spot on top of head and the girls would be black and don't have the white head spot.

This works only one way though.. if they have a barred rock rooster, he can make chicks like that in both sexes. Just a little something to help in the future...

3. kurui

kurui Out Of The Brooder

Feb 20, 2015
    Thanks! I don't really know a whole lot about the flock to be honest, though the two we were told were girls do have a white/yellow spot on their heads. If they're all boys that could be a bit of a problem...