First time with a broody hen!

ccarver80

Chirping
5 Years
Jul 28, 2014
Squaw gap ND
So my hen went broody, ... dumb me forgot to mark the date when i first noticed it...

Tried candling the eggs for the first time ever, can someone tell me how far along she is??

I guessed 12-14 days... total random guess

Heres a video

I'm no expert on candling - in fact, i just let the momma get on with it. If the eggs were not set at the same time, there will be a staggered hatch.

CT

A broody will lay eggs until she feels she has enough. The actual incubation won't start until then, that way they all hatch at the same time. I can't see your YouTube video, I'll tag somebody that can.
@WVduckchick can u see the video?

No matter what, good luck with your hatch!!!

I'm sorry I missed this tag last night. I'm at work at the moment, and can't watch the whole thing right now.

But I'll tag @RavynFallen @FridayYet @AmyLynn2374 maybe they can take a look and give an opinion

What an easy going broody!! I watched it. I honestly can't tell from the video. I can't get a good clear pic of the development. The one you can see the air cell quite well and it's a decent size. If I were just looking at the air cell I would think end of second week. The growth doesn't seem that far though. There's still a lot of light passing through the eggs. I'd guess more day 10-12. But I honestly can't make heads or tales from the shadow of development you can make out on the video. I would suggest taking a look at this: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...g-candling-pics-progression-though-incubation and comparing to what you see. This is an execellent thread that shows daily progression by candling.

thank you for that article! very helpful, i need to mark on my calander next time... she has been so off and on latly... that when i did finally notice she had been sitting on the a pile of eggs for a decent amount of time i couldnt pin point exactly when she started