First Timer: Mallard Eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Snipes, May 15, 2010.

1. Snipes

Snipes Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2010
    Okay, I am getting 8 mallard eggs in about a week and a half after learning about what caring for them will involve. Now I am trying to figure out I am going to hatch the darn things. I have been doing some research on the site and I am trying to pick up as many details as I can about them so that I will end up hatching at least some. This is my first time hatching anything, so here's my fingers crossed. I would love someone to tell me their successes (and failures) with hatching mallard eggs.
    Here is what I know for sure, or think I know, right now
    -Hatching timeline is 28 days, and I think I know what to look for when candling and what days to do it. http://duckeggs.com/hatching-eggs.html
    -Duck eggs are more porous than chicken eggs
    -Eggs should be turned an odd number of times is hand-turned
    -Temps should be about 98-100 F more or less (as per duckeggs site)
    -Stop turning around day 25 as this is "lockdown" and you up the humidity as well. Ducklings, if alive, will be at the end stages and pipping to me and thinking about breaking out.
    That is about the only solid info I have.
    I will be attempting this with a Hovabator 1602-N with an automatic egg turner.
    Here are main pieces I am not sure about
    -Humidity: from duckeggs.com, it seems that 86% days 1-25 and 94% after, but lots of the pages I am going through here say considerable less, as low as 30% with one thread saying that a book says to keep the eggs at a lower humidity actually, than chicken eggs.
    -Cooling/misting- I have read about possible bringing the eggs out and cooling them for 10-15 minutes and then spraying them with 100 F water. I also have conflicting info about whether to spray at all, and if spraying, which days to.