1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

First timer with chickens and one is sick

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mamaofthree, Jan 23, 2014.

1. mamaofthree

mamaofthree New Egg

Jan 23, 2014
    This is my first time ever owning chickens, and never thought something would go wrong. I have a hen with a severly impacted crop. She (babygirl) is soooo skinny and her crop is the size of a baseball. I feel horrible. I have tried oil, and started with a baking soda mixed with water. And just now doing the apple vinegar with water. I am afraid I may be too late to save her and with pay day being so far away, a vet is clearly not an option right now. Does any one know what I can do??

2. alaskanchickens

alaskanchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2014
    South central Alaska
    How long has she had it? Is her crop hard or is it squishy feeling? Is it tender?

3. mamaofthree

mamaofthree New Egg

Jan 23, 2014
    She started feeling down a few weeks ago. but ever since she was a baby she was a little top heavy, so I never noticed anything with her. it is hard, and she is so skinny. She was eatng a few days ago. and she had been swinging her head back and forth, but I thought it was from the cold. I got her inside now in a box with a towel. She is atleast keeping warm. She wont even open her eyes

4. alaskanchickens

Jan 21, 2014
    South central Alaska