first timers..are they alive or dead?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chicksahoy, Apr 25, 2009.

1. chicksahoy

chicksahoy Out Of The Brooder

Dec 24, 2008
    cedaredge
    i am a first time incubator and am a little worried that i killed my eggs. i candled them tonight which would be day 6, and all of them have very faint vaining. so i did some research and it seems to me they should be further along.the temp spiked one day to around 105 in the bator..would that kill them? also the humid. has been about 49-53 % is that too high?

2. I'vegotchickenfever

I'vegotchickenfever Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2009
    Northwest Florida
    I'm not an expert, but veining is good. Wait and see what happens. I think if they died, you would've seen a blood ring, but I could be wrong. Don't stop yet...give it a little more time.

3. claud

claud Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2007
    PA
    Faint veining on day 6 would be normal.
    Are these white or brown eggs? Sometimes if the eggs are dark it is hard to see. I try to wait until day 10 to candle and make a judgement - my eggs are pretty dark brown though.
    105 is pretty high but if you're seeing veins that's a good thing. I'd wait a few days and candle again.
    I think your humidity is good. i don't measure my humidity.

4. chicksahoy

Dec 24, 2008
    cedaredge
    thanks guys, ill wait and see. i have white brown green nd blue eggs, but none are very dark. [​IMG]

5. I'vegotchickenfever

I'vegotchickenfever Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2009
    Northwest Florida
    I'll be looking for an update around day 10. [​IMG]

6. chicksahoy

Dec 24, 2008
    cedaredge
    UPDATE!! i have candled about 2 times in the past 3or4 days and have seen movement in most of them!! i am taking out the egg turner tonight and hope to have fuzzy buts in about 3 days![​IMG] one question though, if i cant see movement, does tat mean they're dead?

7. claud

claud Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2007
    PA