1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

First trip to TSC...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by girliegirl940, Apr 23, 2011.

1. girliegirl940

girliegirl940 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 18, 2011
    Auburn
    Well I took my first trip into TSC today to do a little chick browsing...I have to say I wasn't to impressed! I am new to chickens and don't have any yet that's why I thought I would shop around a little, 2 places near me carry chicks, TSC and a local place called Klems. At TSC they didn't have a very big selection of breeds (don't know if they typically only carry a few types) and I think there was a little chick that was about to die in the brooder...I felt bad...I had to leave...and I don't think I will be buying any chicks there...I think I will try the other place...I was really hoping to buy local...I will have to do some more looking around!!!

Bad news is both places have a 6 chick min (due to state law) and I really only wanted 4 (as that's all my town will let me have!)

The day wasn't a total loss...I did pick up a purple chick feeder!!! [​IMG]

Have a good one!

2. Baymule

Baymule Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2010
    Northeast Texas
    I got what I wanted from a local feed store. TSC in my town does not have a good selection and puts chicks in galvanized water tubs. The feed store has a multi level brooder set up for chicks and they are much more knowledgable. You might even look on Craigs list or let us know what town/state you live in, maybe a BYC'er lives close to you. Welcome to BYC and chickens. [​IMG]

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member