Fixing chick ankle problems?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by CheerfulChirp, Jun 30, 2016.

1. CheerfulChirp

CheerfulChirp Just Hatched

Jun 30, 2016
    UK
    Hi everyone!

I'm new to keeping quail and I've just incubated my first batch of eggs[​IMG]. I had a decent hatch rate from posted eggs (67%), but all hatched with various foot, toe and leg problems. Thanks to reading this forum, following the links to the Poultry Podiatry website, and watching some demonstrations on YouTube, I was able to look up what to do and how to fix most problems. I'm at the start of day three now, and all chicks except one have made complete recoveries. I feel like a good mom [​IMG]

The remaining chick had had multiple problems with its feet, but thanks to vitamins, cardboard shoes and physiotherapy most problems have cleared up now. In one foot, however, there were ankle problems that I couldn't immediately fix. The ankle was contorted at a strange angle, was swollen and wouldn't move freely. There wasn't any sign of infection (no discoloration, no sores or broken skin).

Now, the swelling on the ankle has all but disappeared, but it's still twisted so that the foot is folded inwards towards the body at 90 degrees. I can now freely rotate the ankle to make the foot *almost* straight, so the chick could probably start to learn to walk on it normally today... if only I knew how to hold it in that position. I've checked everywhere, but I can't find any advice about what to do to correct ankle position. Are there any techniques anyone has used in the past to hold an ankle straight, or does anyone have any ideas about what I can do?

The chick itself is quite strong, it seems upbeat and has a real thirst for life. It has grown well, eats and drinks with enthusiasm, is curious and sociable, and can walk, climb, run, and jump despite its problems. I'm just worried that if I don't fix the ankle now, it will become very painful as it grows larger.

Please help!

2. DK newbie