Flies Killing My Chickens?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by foghornleghorn9, Jul 24, 2014.

1. foghornleghorn9

foghornleghorn9 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 2, 2013
    I am fairly new to keeping chickens and this is my first full AZ summer with them. I cannot believe the amount of flies around and in my coops. I have plenty of traps/poison around but they still are everywhere. One of my coops had it really bad and I have lost 2 great birds on consecutive days, Can it be the flies? These were young healthy birds that were great layers, both birds gave eggs the day they died. One was a Buff Orp and the other was an Easter Egger. It was not the heat, they were kept cool all the time. There was a smell like a small animal or rodent may have died under this particular coop and the flies increased. The coop couldn't be moved and by now the smell has gone. Does anyone know/think that the flies could have transmitted something from a dead animal? My other 2 coops and 20 + birds are fine (thank God). Being fairly new to chicken keeping I would really appreciate any knowledge and suggestions. If anyone knows of a good product to keep down the flies, PLEASE let me know. Thank you all and God Bless.

Tommy

2. BayBay Peepers

BayBay Peepers Overrun With Chickens

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    You mention you use poison. Is there any chance your chickens could have come into contact with the poison? Or if there was a dead rodent who ate poison maybe they ate the rodent. How often do you clean your coop out? I know flies can be pretty dirty buggers and the cleaner things are the less you'll have. (I know easier said than done) I'm sorry for your loss.

3. darrn

darrn Out Of The Brooder

May 8, 2014
    robertsville, mo