float test at day 25--update

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Niss, Jul 9, 2011.

1. Niss

Niss Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    For those of you not familier with my constant worries I am a chicken newb, and this is my first attempt of any sort to incubate eggs. I have a broody starting on day 25. I did a float test this am and of 5 remaining eggs 4 were low floaters and one sunk. The sinker looked about the samw as one that broke on day 14ish. I have had bad luck candling and will invest in the correct light befor trying again.

I put the other 4 back, but what are the odds of them hatching?

Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  2. ShortCircuitRanch2332

ShortCircuitRanch2332 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    Oak Hills
    umm what are you incubating? are they in an incubator? or under a hen? if they are chickens they usually hatch on day 21 umm but if they are still alive they either had poor temps and are way late or are shrink wraped due to poor humidity which needs to be at about 70-75 in a bator

3. Niss

Apr 29, 2011
    Yeah, sorry--chixken eggs under a hen. I know they are late, but are they hopeless?

edit to ask--Would eggs layed durring ivermectin wirhdraw be viable? have higher incidence of defects?

Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  4. Niss

Apr 29, 2011
    Update--we are now at day 26 (I think I origanally miscounted) and no chicks. I can't watch or listen for anything effectively because of the set up. I am trying to deside what to do, please, please advise me. i've listed options in the order they appeal to me, but i really don't know what is best. I'm new I really have no clue!

As I see it I can:
    A) Let her sit until they hatch or explode.