float test - confused!

ccusker

In the Brooder
9 Years
Dec 27, 2010
Hi all...I am BRAND NEW to this and really botched my first hatch attempt. I have one sad little egg left that is due to hatch now (yesterday actually). I did the float test after reading another post with similar issues. My egg floated about 15% above water - that means viable right? But there was NOOOOO movement and I even snuck a quick candling in while drying it off and what I saw was really weird. The edges near the air sac are all uneven - almost like a splatter if that makes sense. There is no evidence of an internal pip and also no signs of movement or peeping. I stuck it back in the incubator and said a few prayers! Anyone have any insight into what's going on with my little egg? I have a horrible feeling it's dead, but float test indicates it may be alive...can you tell I'm attached to this egg? Ha! ANY advice would be appreciated! - I know, sit on my hands!

I had this very same thing happen the other night AND about a week ago too. Two different results. The other night - the chick hatched the next day. A week ago, no hatch, opened the egg, dead chick. I think as long as the egg floated high, I would leave it for another couple days and then test again. I never give up until I really have to.

Floating too often can cause delays, as well as opening the Incubator too often....

Ask me how I know.....
smile.png

Good luck with your hatch!

Quote:
I believe you, but I've also had the opposite experience. For eggs that could have been shrunk wrapped due to my constant LG problems, they hatched within a day of doing the test. I read something about this on another site too where it helped moisten the membrane. Different things work for different people/hatches
big_smile.png

Thank you both soooo much. I really hope to be sharing news of a hatch soon! I can't explain to non-chicken people why this is so important to me - glad there are other chicken-lovers to talk to
smile.png