Flock concerns

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by twoangels35, Feb 7, 2015.

1. twoangels35

twoangels35 New Egg

Feb 7, 2015
    I'm fairly new at this.... We started our flock about 10 months ago...they had been fine until the last few weeks. The odd thing is I was planning to downsize and have half of them processed...not even two days later the first one died! Unfortunately, she was one of my leghorns that I planned to keep. I have (had) 3 of that breed that had been laying an egg every.day for about the past 7 months...some of the eggs were more than jumbo size. When I found her, she was on the top in the nesting box...her bottom was bloody and there was a blood covered egg underneath her :-( I researched the situation and decided it was possible she died from a prolapse...2 days later a second leghorn was found on the floor which I assumed was from the same reason...I did notice this time that her insides from her bottom were basically cleaned out...and a Wyandotte and New Hampshire Red were near her pecking...which I assumed they ate the prolapsed area and was concerned they ate her intestines too...about 2 days later...the Wyandotte was found...then last night the New Hampshire Red died :-( I'm concerned about the eggs...because I normally collect the eggs clumped together, so I don't know who laid which ones...the other hens and roosters seem fine...any thoughts? The only thing I have done differently in the past 2 months is I started giving them scratch grains as well as their normal feed...

Last edited: Feb 7, 2015
  2. PrairieChickens

PrairieChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2012
    Kansas