Flooring in the chicken coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Bigfatchicken, Dec 9, 2009.

1. Bigfatchicken

Bigfatchicken Out Of The Brooder

Dec 9, 2009
    sarasota, Florida
    What types of flooring are people using? How does chicken waste and pee effect the flooring and it there are mildew issues.
    thank you very much this is my first time at BYC.

2. Schroeder

Schroeder Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2008
    Central Indiana
    My Coop
    Depends on your coop and situation. Some use concrete, some dirt. Many, like I, cover plywood with linoleum. Sometimes you can get cheap remnants at hardware or flooring stores.

3. Shannon's Chix

Shannon's Chix Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2009
    N.E. Florida
    I use linoleum over plywood too. A word of warning, I thought the peel and stick squares would be so easy but they keep peeling and coming up...I definitely wish I had gotten one big piece and I will...eventually.

4. gsim

gsim Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2009
    East Tennessee
    Linoleum over OSB here and two big pieces because is a large coop at 8 x 16 and I bought remnants. Glue it down BEFORE framing the walls so it is under the wall base plates, then caulk the seam between the base plates and linoleum. I also took strips 16" long and cut them to fit between each wall stud and ran them up the sheathing. Stapled and caulked edges so I could hose the whole thing down when I change litter. Use a poop plank, 24" wide and place roost in center over it. Make it of sheet metal if affordable/ available. Otherwise do OSB 1/2" and cover with linoleum glued on. Easy to scrape daily in AM and your litter will last a year if 6' deep or so. This is a fact that I know because I am doing it with 24 chooks and it is working well. [​IMG]

5. Amethyste

Amethyste For Love of Boo...