Fluffed up older hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jaxchickens, Jan 23, 2013.

1. jaxchickens

jaxchickens New Egg

Nov 25, 2012
    I'm new to chickens and starting to panic with the behavior of one of my hens. Wynonna was fluffed up this morning when I went out with morning feed. Normally she runs around with the others and pushes into the coop for breakfast, today she stayed in the yard fluffed up and kinda lethargic. I pushed her with a stick through the fence and she got right up and walked around with no wobbles or falling, then went back to her corner and laid back down all fluffed up. No sniffles or sneezes, no fluids leaking, and all the poop in the coop looks normal.

She is older but I don't know how old. I bought her at a farm swap last year with another hen, Naomi, both Wyandottes. She was an adult and was I told that she was a two egg a day hen, and a former 4H project bird. She gave me three whole eggs before she molted and then decided to stop laying completely, and Naomi never laid an egg. It's been about six months with no eggs, no signs of illness other than her fluffy and lethargic day today. Any suggestions?

2. Smelly2005au

Smelly2005au Out Of The Brooder

Jan 23, 2013
    i have a light sussex cross hen that fluffed up the other day at me being near her, and she proceeded to sit on her nest, so i just assumed cluckiness. Perhaps your hen has gone broody also. My Sussex get around growling and clucking the last few days, again due to broodyness, Does yours make growly type of clucking noises too? She might just be broody :)

3. jaxchickens

jaxchickens New Egg

Nov 25, 2012
    I don't think I have ever heard her make any noise other than a few squawks when I pick her up. Can they go six months without laying from broodiness?

4. jaxchickens

jaxchickens New Egg

Nov 25, 2012