Flying baby chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by foreverdavis, May 7, 2011.

1. foreverdavis

foreverdavis Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2011
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie. We got our first 6 chicks at TS last Saturday. We have them in a large Rubbermaid tub. A couple are flying to the height of the top of the tub already. Do I need to cover? Deeper container? Clip feathers? I don't know what breed they are--they are yellow chicks.

We are expecting 25 more later this month and I'm indecisive about their brooder situation. We have coming: 5 Buff Orpington, 5 Dk Brahmas, and 5 Speckled Sussex, plus 10 Columbian Cross. I know I want the 10 Columbian Cross separated, but am thinking the Rubbermaid already seems small for 6 little chicks, much less these fast-growers. Then, I'm also thinking of splitting up my chicks in different tubs so they won't be crowded, but...I'd like them to grow up together but I don't know how to get something big enough to handle all of them. My husband is busy building the big coop for later, so I just need a easy solution that I can do. I was considering blocking off a section of the room I have them in and using the floor--linoleum covered in wood chips. But then I still need to separate the Meaties.

Angie

2. harri

harri Out Of The Brooder

Apr 13, 2011
    Rhode Island
    I got mine from tsc 4 weeks ago. the get big quick. I am also a newb to chicks.
    I have a cover on my brooder. I keep it closed, but when i open it the leghorns all fly out . the reds stay put for now.
    Its funny to see the chicks on the floor when i come up the stairs with fresh water!

3. 4acresNachick

4acresNachick Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2011