"Foam" in eyes, also cough/wheezing? Swollen waddle?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Sunshyne276, Jul 9, 2010.

1. Sunshyne276

Sunshyne276 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2010
    Richlands, Virginia
    I noticed one of my chickens (she was VERY ill, and presumably "egg bound", a couple weeks ago - but recovered after several days) is wheezing, and I heard a cough. Then, another chicken had what looked to be "foam" on her eye. Then, another hen has one swollen waddle, and it feels hard, almost as though there were something (round like a "BB") inside it. And, another hen seems to be having a difficult time passing an egg! Could these be symptoms of something in particular?

Thanks in advance!

2. RM44

RM44 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2009
    Woodstock, Georgia
    Good grief! It sounds to me like a few different things going on. I am no expert on all the chicken illnesses, but the foam in the eye and the coughing/sneezing are signs of respiratory diseases. The hard waddle; well, ya got me on that one?

Do some google searches for chicken diseases, read up on the respiratory ones and see if you can pinpoint some common symptoms. If they're all sick (or many of them) with respiratory symptoms, they've probably got some common ones to help you pinpoint the problem.

3. MotherJean

MotherJean Chillin' With My Peeps

Probably Infectious Bronchitis (IB) - here's a link to info on it in the Merck Vet Manual: http://www.merckvetmanual.com/mvm/index.jsp?cfile=htm/bc/206500.htm You should know, however, that similar symptoms can be found in mild cases of: Newcastle disease, laryngotracheitis, and infectious coryza.