Food Chemical Codex grade DE

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by grizz78, Apr 6, 2009.

1. grizz78

grizz78 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 6, 2009
    Tiffin
    I am a newbie looking for advice. I know you are not supposed to raise chickens and turkeys near each other but I am going to attempt it. There has not been any poultry on my farm for many years. My wife does have horses. From what I have been reading on here is that "Black Head" is what I need to be careful of. I have been reading the Food Chemical Codex Grade DE is the way to go. It is hard to find. I stopped at a local pool store and they had Celaton Diatomite EP minerals.ISO 9002 Certified. Is this the same as "Food Grade"? I have searched and can't get a difinative answer. I do have my local Farmers CO-OP looking for it as well. Any help would be appreciated.

2. DiVon80

DiVon80 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2009
    Pearl River,Louisiana
    I don't think this is what you want? Food grade you may have to order it. I'm kinda in your spot, where to get it? I'm thinking google food grade DE. I guess! I am still deciding and wonder if any one in the deep south uses it. We are such a wet place. I have seen some where in here that someone did a pro and con of its use. Maybe someone will post where. I notice alot of posters are from the way north. We were having 80 degrees yesterday now we are down to the 60's. I forget some people are still freezing I will search for the thread.[​IMG] Also I think your turkeys and chickens will do fine. Sometimes people use chicks to teach the turkeys while they are young. Turkeys not to smart as babies.[​IMG]

3. grizz78

Apr 6, 2009
    Tiffin
    I should be hearing back from the CO-OP soon to see if they can get it. If not I will order some online. I see there is a post I have been watching about it and who uses it.
    Thanks

4. Nivrocco

Nivrocco Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2009
    S.W. VA