Food For Thought

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by BunkyB, Mar 17, 2013.

1. BunkyB

BunkyB Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi guys Steve the newbie here. I have been doing chichens for a very long time and I only woke up a few years ago about this food for thought. 2 parts if I may...
    For those of you as do I hate the prices of feed and the direction it goes...UP. For those of us with over 100 birds as a minimum, the price of feed is scary ! You may think this is funny but it works. I feed most of my birds in troughs, the rest in drum bins,etc. You walk in and the floors a mess around the bin side of the hen house and a lot cleaner by the troughs. I tried the v shaped, all of them always a mess on the floor. I went to the hardware store and bought a 10 foot long piece of plastic GSW eavestroughing for rain gutters on your homes. Bought 4 end caps and brackets to mount it with. The GSW troughing has an inner lip that turns down at the top edges. I took it home and made 2, 5 foot long troughs, cut her with the hacksaw. Put the end caps on both pieces, they snap on so no fuss with glue and excellent for cleaning. I mounted the two pieces on the walls instead of the middle of the floor, filled her up generously . and when I came back, to my surprise,very little, next to no waste on the floor.
    The inner lips as I call them saves a lot of the food from being flung out. Still use it to this day...

Part2
    For those of you who feed a variety of feeds and make your own mixes as I do. Some, pellets only, some mash only, some with their own mixes. There is always that powdery stuff in the bottoms hens want nothing to do with. It goes to waste or we just keep adding to it. Since I use GSW as mentioned above I pop the troughs out of their brackets, take an end cap off and I slide the rejected feed into a 5 gallon bucket.Pop the lid back on her and set it aside, build up 3,4,5 lbs of it.