Food Safety article in BYP

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by rbaker0345, Sep 27, 2012.

1. rbaker0345

rbaker0345 Big Mamma Brahma

I just wanted to adress an issue that I have with an article in the most recent BYP magazine which I am sure most of you get.

I am a molecular/cellular biologist, I have a degree in microbiology and I would just like everyone to know that there is a huge difference between the salmonella that grows in our free range, backyard chickens raised on a variety of foods and scraps and those wretched, pathetic industrially raised chickens raised on a concentrated feed, never allowed to even see a blade of grass. That artificial, corn and by-product based diet acidifies the gut of livestock including poultry, swine and cattle. This acidic environment promotes the growth of hemorrhagic or fatal strains of what would be perfectly benign bacteria. The free ranged, backyard chickens that most of us are humane enough to raise are fairly harmless to humans with normal immune systems. Do not be afraid to let your kids handle those ducklings, chickens or baby chicks. Or, for that matter, don't worry about relatives of chickens such as turtles, lizards, snakes and amphibians.

I have free range chickens and I no longer worry about licking the mixing beaters after I make chocolate chip cookies. I would worry about this with commercially produced eggs, but not my healthy chickens with normal gut flora.

Don't get into over-using antibacterial soaps, this promotes antibiotic resistance in normally benign bacteria. Use soap and plenty of running water.

2. caspernc

caspernc Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Z town NC
    Very well said!

3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon