For eggs will Buff Orpington Bantams be okay?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by orcasislandchickens, Jul 9, 2008.

1. orcasislandchickens

orcasislandchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2008
    I am new to this whole backyard chicken concept. I have to admit so far- well lets just say my efforts seem to be achieving mixed results. I have a nice, new, very pretty, version of the playhouse coop and want a few hens for eggs. Everything here is a pet.

One person that promised me hens, unloaded roo's on me instead, and I didn't know, so I had to re-home them. Spring has gone summer's here and I am still a long way from getting any eggs. Since I am starting over I want this next group of chickens to work.

I have finally found some sexed buff orpington pullets, but I have found them in both standard and bantam sizes.

It is only me and my mostly non egg eating spouse so I do not need a lot of eggs. Six ordinary ones a week would be plenty . The coop is small so 4 or 5 bantams would probably fit better and be happier than 3 standards ? Are the buff orpington bantams realy like the larger birds with the nice disposition and lack of interest/ability in flying? Small eggs would be ok if the bantams would lay with reasonable frequency and through the winter (winter laying being an advertised plus for the bigger ones here in the cold rainy PNW). Anyone raise these or know more about them from personal experience? (I have read all the online blurbs from the hatcheries). Does anyone have laying age pullets/ very young hens ?

Thanks for any help, links, stories, insights or sugestions that you can give me.

2. Karlachix

Karlachix Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2008
    NorthEast
    Will you be using the eggs for baking? I read an article about eggs (recipes and info) and the author said that because bantam eggs have a higher yolk to white ratio, they can be tricky to bake with and can ruin some recipes.

3. orcasislandchickens

Jul 9, 2008