Eastern/Central PA
Take a look at this little cutie!
wink.png

26636_100_3664.jpg

26636_100_3668.jpg

26636_100_3666.jpg

I think it is a Frizzle. If it is, then here's Daddy:

26636_100_3670.jpg

I just wasn't sure he was, uh successful. He's been trying, but I think he finally got it!

Ooh, now that's a neat-looking chick!
I just looked up the "Turken".....sounds like it's an overall good chicken.
Not to mention that one there is far too cute!
big_smile.png

Have you had them long enough to have gotten any eggs from them? And how is their temperament?
Sorry for the questions, but I'm new to chickens in general, and never realized there were so many varieties out there. I kinda like the looks of this one, and on further reading, they seem to be a bit better-off as far as disease immunity and heat issues. Again, I only know this from reading, so I might be way off.

I do get eggs from mine. I actually have 3 Turken chicks that hatched this year from my hens, but the pics of the one I just posted is the cutest! I don't think any of mine are purebred though. I bought my original Turkens at an auction. My intentions are to have some sort of breeding project with them, so this year I bought Giant Cochin chicks and Polish chicks. We'll see what happens with those... One thing I did find out is that only 50% or so will hatch out with the naked necks. Anyway...

The Turkens I have are mild mannered. The roos do not have an aggressive bone in their bodies. Also, I have semi-trained them to only crow inside the coop - I lightly mist them with the hose (NOTE: I only lightly mist them! I don't power wash them! LOL). Now all I have to do is go outside and pick up the hose and they run inside and "yell". It's too funny! Hey, I live in town and it's worked for me for quite a long time!!! The hens are good too. I've never really held my chickens too much, so they're not sitting-on-my-shoulder kind of friendly, but they aren't skittish either.