Forgive me if this is a dumb question...

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by flspnr, Oct 16, 2011.

1. flspnr

flspnr Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2011
    Gibsonton, FL
    I'm new to chickens all together. I got 2 bantams, randomly picked by who I thought was pretty enough to be a girl, and they both were! Someone else gave me a gorgeous white chicken, Snowflake, a bantam as well. This morning, Snowflake started to crow! Ooops.

I didn't want a rooster since I didn't want the neighbors to complain. We're going to try for the moment keeping him inside at night to muffle the sound, and he'll be outside with the girls all day (10am to 8ish pm). We have another neighbor, next neighborhood over, with a rooster, but he's quiet enough he doesn't bother anyone. I think having one would be ok if I can keep him quiet at night/early morning. One neighbor, the one who I was talking to when we heard him trying to crow, already said she doesn't care. She's a country girl. [​IMG]

Anyways, onto my question....

IF we keep him, and IF we let the self blue OE go broody (will she even?), what will I have as a result? The Roo is a White OE. I know it won't be a pure color, right? But it would be a pure OE, just not a standard color? Would I get a light blue OE? Some blue and some white? All white?

Still unsure if we would let them hatch chicks. But, I'd be curious to know what they would be if we did! Thanks!!

ETA: That's him in my picture. That was taken a couple of weeks ago, before the big red combs and wattles showed up. [​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  2. tadkerson

tadkerson Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2008
    Missouri
    You will get black offspring.

Tim

3. flspnr

Sep 23, 2011
    Gibsonton, FL
    Black? Cool. [​IMG]

Can you explain why, or is it complicated? I don't know much about genetics, lol.

Thanks for your reply!!

4. chickendales

chickendales Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Michigan