Forgot to say hello! Also, pics of chicks!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by treslilbirds, Mar 16, 2017.

1. treslilbirds

treslilbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2017
    NorCal
    Just wanted to take a moment to formally introduce myself. I'm brand new to raising chickens. I've worked with cats and dogs in the vet industry for years, but birds were never really my thing.
    Well now I have 6 baby chicks that I picked up from from TSC this past Friday. Lost one baby Sunday morning, TSC manager let me get a replacement, every one is doing great now! I'm putting PND in their water daily, I swear they double in size every night. One of my golden comets is my biggest girl already. She already sits like she's on a little nest and is the bossier of the bunch. Her sister is the opposite, small and sweet, loves to cuddle with the other girls. My 2 little RIR's love to be held and "sleep peep" in my hand, and they have me wrapped around their little tail feathers. My two leghorn girls just crack me up. They both strut around and scratch and peck like they think they're big things already.
    They're names are Vivi, Siddalee (RIR), Reba, Fancy (golden comets), and Scarlett and Boogers (leghorns)

I seriously never thought raising chickens could be this entertaining and rewarding. It's so amazing to look at their little tiny floofy selves, that fit in the palm of my hand, and know that one day soon, they'll be providing us with food, fertilizer, pest control...just amazing little creatures.

So needless to say, I'm hooked. I obsess over chicken coops on Pinterest now and hatchery catalogs at midnight instead of Facebook and social media. The only time I even get on FB right now is to post pictures of my girls! [​IMG]