forums, god, prayers, and chickens

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by quizzle, Oct 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quizzle

quizzle Out Of The Brooder

Sep 16, 2008
    Seattle, WA
    I have some experience with different forums and noticed God and religion always come into play. I tend to have a laissez-faire approach to things and I'm fine with people doing whatever it is they need to do to be happy and healthy.

What I noticed is God and prayers always show up on forums be it chickens or gardens or motorcycles whether asked for or not. Maybe not lock-picking or more male dominated forums.

I am not religious, but I know a lot of people find faith a deep, spiritual resource. However, I wonder if I was religious and wasn't Christian if I could feel comfortable here without repressing it. It's not necessarily bad. It is touching to see that there are people out there across the world who care or connect enough with someone to pray for them. I'm just saying for someone who isn't religious who wants to learn more about raising chickens on a chicken forum, there's a lot of reference to God.

I feel like I would be ostracized if I didn't go along.

Last edited: Oct 21, 2008
  2. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    Quizzle, your thoughts reflect the thoughts of many here on BYC. We've been through many threads full of arguments and calls for tolerance.

The upshot is, all are welcome, and none should try to force their belief system on anybody else. We hope you feel welcome here.

3. morelcabin

morelcabin Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2007
    Ontario Canada
    I have one thing to say here...when prayer is needed, it is asked for...and there are people willing to pray for you no matter where you are if you ask...there's nothing wrong with asking for prayer...what is this world coming to when people have to feel uncomfortable asking for such a simple thing?

4. speckledhen