Foul smelling green poo

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Carmel Farmer, Mar 31, 2015.

1. Carmel Farmer

Carmel Farmer New Egg

Mar 31, 2015
    Hello. I am a new chicken farmer. I incubated and hatched my own chicks. I was feeding them fermented chick starter which was recommended by my brother. They were 7 days old and healthy when I bought 3 more from a hatchery. The guy at the store said I should give them medicated started since these chicks had been exposed to more germs. So I bought the medicated chick starter and fermented it just like I was doing before. However, now one of the chicks has sticky green foul-smelling poo. It is very different from the other normal bird poo which is more formed, whitish and doesn't smell bad. Now I am confused. Is the bird sick because it really did get coccidiosis or some other bug? Or is it sick because I started giving it medicated feed? I don't know if it needs more medicine or less medicine. Like I said, they were totally fine until I picked up the birds from the commercial hatchery and the medicated feed. :(

2. BayBay Peepers

BayBay Peepers Overrun With Chickens

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    Are the new chicks separate or did you put them with the original ones? How is it acting besides the poo? I'm not very familiar with fermented feed, but I'm wondering if maybe it's just a bit stressed right now. When I first got chicks a few were stressed and would get a pasty butt, but after a good cleaning and a little settling it never happened again.

3. Carmel Farmer

Carmel Farmer New Egg

Mar 31, 2015
    The chicks are all together and have been for a week. They have settled in nicely together. I do not see signs of stress or pecking. The older ones are now 2 weeks old. This poo is truly foul-smelling and not at all like the other droppings I am seeing.

4. Carmel Farmer

Carmel Farmer New Egg

Mar 31, 2015