Found mix of pullets for new coop/flock, need input

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Manok-Tao, Jan 9, 2010.

1. Manok-Tao

Manok-Tao Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2010
    W-S NC
    Yes I'm a newbie to the site and have only 6 months of chicken experience 2 yrs ago. Decided to do it right and build a nice and cozy, yet well ventilated coop and run plus back yard free range opportunities when on good behaviour.
    Some may have read some of my recent posts...
    ok no debeaked birds...found a guy an hour away that has the following 3 1/2 to 5 month old pullets for sale
    Barred Rock (2)
    BSL (2)
    Buff orp (2)
    Buff Brahmas
    Dark Brahmas
    Delawares (2)
    Partridge rocks
    Speck Sussex (2)
    Araucanas
    The numbers in parthen.. are the qty's I'm thinking of. This guy will also hold the birds I choose/buy for me while I finish the coop (3-4 wks)
    I also recieved a post from a lady here on BYC that has RSL pullets and am awaiting her reply to my IM to her if 2 of them will be avail in same timeline.
    Had them before and loved them.
    Please give me your input on this idea I have...(planning on getting them the same day and putting them into the coop after dark)
    John

2. Manok-Tao

Jan 6, 2010
    W-S NC
    have I put this in the wrong catagory?

3. jerseygirl1

jerseygirl1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2009
    Orange County, NY
    I would have listed this under raising baby chicks, but here's my input
    You are putting different flocks together that have not been raised together, right? I am no expert, but I would think you need to quarantine the different flocks for 30 days
    I had mine in a large dog crate for two weeks, then let them free range together during the day, back in the cage at night.
    It always worked,

4. Manok-Tao

Jan 6, 2010
    W-S NC