Found my Buff Orp Hen Dead in the yard - like she just dropped dead.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by sampaw, May 9, 2011.

1. sampaw

sampaw New Egg

May 9, 2011
    Hello and thank you in advance for reading my post. I am brand new to Chickens and this forum. I know I agreed to no "foul" language, but I think that may be impossible on this forum.

We secured eight Buff Orps from a friend about a month ago. We built them a nice coop and large run in our suburban backyard, which is almost an acre. We feed them what our friend fed them, Coyote Creek Organic Lay Ration, which they love. We keep two hanging poultry feeders full in the coup, but only for the last few days. Before that, we would give about 2lbs in the morning and 2lbs in the evening. We have a food-quality black five gallon bucket with 3 water nipples and another small poultry waterer. We clean the coop frequently and take very good care of them. We let them out around 3-4pm and let them scratch around the yard until they go in for the night.

All eight hens were producing eggs when we got them. Most days we get five eggs. Several times we've gotten 6-7. One day we got eight. That day we noticed one egg was quite large. Only a few times we've gotten 4.

All the chickens were out scratching today. Nothing unusual. Same joyful routine and they taken to letting us pet them. Tonight we threw out fairly nice Tomato scraps, which they love. Usually 5-6 hang together, while the others (one which is blind in one eye from a dog attack before we got them) do their own thing. We've only recently tagged them to try to figure out which ones do what.