Found our first 2 eggs last night

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by rnd6394, Aug 7, 2014.

1. rnd6394

rnd6394 New Egg

Apr 23, 2014
    Michigan
    Our 14 girls are only 18 weeks old so this is earlier than we thought. Not sure who laid, but one egg is very small, the other is normal. Are they ok to eat?
    My husband is still working on the coop, so the nesting boxes aren't even in yet. Ironically, they laid them where the nesting boxes will go. He says this weekend he will be busier now, trying to get them done ;-)
    Thank you!

2. Renee572

Renee572 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2014
    Congrats! My BA started at 18 weeks. I'm new at this but it seems that it's normal for the first eggs to be smaller and they are definitely ok to eat. Here's proof, our first egg was delicious yet only last a few bites!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

3. GulfBamaChick

GulfBamaChick Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2014
    Mobile Bay Area
    Yes, They are indeed safe to eat. Congratulations! Mine are 20 weeks and USELESS [​IMG]lol.

4. Renee572

Renee572 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2014
    Sorry guldbamachick mine are 19 weeks today and only 1 is laying, she started Friday.

5. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Eat and enjoy! Though with the first eggs it can often take a few to make much of a meal for even just one person, lol. Congrats on those first eggs!

6. rc4u

rc4u Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2014