four bantams in the city

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by moonflower17, Jan 20, 2014.

1. moonflower17

moonflower17 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 20, 2014
    I inherited two bantams from my daughter when she moved out of my house and I moved back. Maude died when a dog dug through the fence and got her. I then bought three more and introduced them to the older hen. Three are under a year old. I have Dottie (the oldest one, from my daughter - a Cochin), Emma (a silkie), Ruby (black with red feathers around her neck), and the smallest, a little red hen I call Josie. Josie's at the bottom of the pecking order, Dottie of course is at the top.

I'm new to backyard chickens. I really love my girls.

Last edited: Jan 20, 2014
  2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Great to have you aboard and enjoy BYC!

3. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC!

4. moonflower17

moonflower17 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 20, 2014
    Thanks for the welcome!

Quick story. I know there's a natural pecking order that is going to exist. But for several weeks after getting the new hens, the little red hen was really being thrown out of the flock. They were so mad at her, and it is true she was somewhat of a control freak at first. But I felt so sorry for her. Even when I opened the coop in the morning to let 'em out and feed 'em some corn, the little red hen stayed behind, afraid to follow the flock. I felt so sorry for her.