1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Fowl pox in chicks

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by krmkfowl, Feb 7, 2017.

1. krmkfowl

krmkfowl Just Hatched

Feb 7, 2017
    Hi all, I'm brand new to chickens. I just bought 4 week old silkie crosses (three showgirls, one frizzle), they're about 10 days old now. One of the showgirls is presenting with small nodules on its neck, they look like pimples with a red dot in the center of each bump. All the chicks are active and seem otherwise ok.
    What's the prognosis in chicks this young?
    Should I separate the one chick, or have the others likely caught it already too?
    The pic below looks very similar to my chick's neck. I can get some actual pictures in a bit![​IMG]

2. krmkfowl

krmkfowl Just Hatched

Feb 7, 2017
    Here's a picture of the chick:
    [​IMG]

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    How hot is it where you live? Do you have mosquitoes out now where you live? Ants and other insects can bite them if they are out in a coop, so you might look around. Chicks can really have a bad time with fowl pox. If it gets near their eyes, they can get infected. There is no treatment for pox. Some paint the scabs gently with betadine, but do not disturb the scabs, which can spread it. Can you separate the sick ones with just a screen in the brooder, so they won't be pecked or be using the same feeder/waterer?

4. krmkfowl

krmkfowl Just Hatched

Feb 7, 2017