1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Fox problems!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by JSully1990, Feb 17, 2013.

1. JSully1990

JSully1990 New Egg

Feb 16, 2013
    Hey y'all, I'm new to this page and have a serious problem. I recently got back into raising birds after about 2 yrs. Before, I always had dogs so I never saw a fox within 500 yrds. from my house and only when hunting. My neighbors dog and mine both died recently due to some form of poisioning. Now I have seen a pair of red fox in my back yard three times in one week. I need some advice because shooting them from my house is hard because of my family's problem with the noise. :) I don't mind it though. Help please.

2. americana-lover

americana-lover Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2012
    Michigan
    [​IMG]
    I would suggest getting a humane trap. Just place some kind of meat in there, and the fox will def get stuck. Then release it far away from your house

3. cracked egg

cracked egg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 29, 2012
    Blackfoot, Idaho
    Don't release it if you plan on trapping it. That just creates a problem for someone else. Shoot them, a .22 doesn't make much noise.
    After getting rid of the predators here all we need is someone dropping off more,so don't release them.

4. americana-lover

americana-lover Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2012
    Michigan
    You could release the fox into another wooded area, a place with no human activity, where a fox can still survive

5. JackE

JackE Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    North Eastern Md.