1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Freaking out - is coop/run too small???

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by reedyfork, Dec 23, 2009.

1. reedyfork

reedyfork Out Of The Brooder

Dec 1, 2009
    North Carolina
    Let me first say that this site and forum have been amazing! I am totally new to chickens, and the resources here have been an incredible help.

When I got started on this undertaking, I read every book I could find in the library on raising chickens and it seemed like the consensus was 2-3 sf of coop space per chicken (combined henhouse and run). However, it seems like the consensus on this board appears to be a much larger space (4 sf/chicken in coop and and additional 10 sf/chicken in run). Does this sound right?

I live in a dense urban neighborhood, and that kind of space (even for the 3 chickens I am restricted to) is simply going to be difficult to find. My henhouse is almost complete, but I do have some flexibility still in the run and yard space. The good thing is that I don't need to be concered with ever expanding my flock, since I am limited by city ordinance to only a few hens.

Anyway, here's what I have planned. Someone please tell me that this will be OK.

7 sf in henhouse (2.3 sf/bird) attached to;
    12 sf of covered, screened-in run (4 sf/bird), leading out to;
    300 sf of uncovered, fenced-in yard (partitioned from the rest of our yard). They will also have occassional, limited, supervised access to my entire backyard.

I will post pics once I figure out how to do it, but this is all in the early construction process right now. Will they be OK with this???

Ron

2. lalaland

lalaland Overrun With Chickens

Sep 26, 2008
    Pine County MN