Free chicks....maybe in SC

Discussion in 'Buy Sell Auction - Archives' started by Cocky, Feb 4, 2008.

1. Cocky

Cocky Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2007
    Georgetown, SC
    I am located in George town SC. I am a 3rd grade teacher, and I was considering incubating some eggs to let my class watch the process. If I did I wanted too know if anyone would be interested in having the chicks....for free. I want to do the project, but can't affor the extra chickens right now. (I'm going out of town for an extended period of time this summer)

Here are the conditions:

No shipping....must pick up I would be willing to travel possibly a little ways to cut your travel cost.

The hatch would not happen until later this spring as I would have to plan the project, get the incubator, and hatch the eggs.

I would not be able to sex the chicks....I'm just a teacher who has chickens as a hobby

The chicks would be mixxed breeds of what I have in my personal flock:

my only rooster is a buff orp
    My hens are as follows ameracuana (spelling?) black giant, red sex link, black sexlink, 1 golden comet

Is anyone interested?

Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  2. scgamecock

scgamecock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    Conway SC
    I'm only 25 miles from you so I might be interested.How many are you talking about hatching?

3. Cocky

Nov 15, 2007
    Georgetown, SC
    I was thinking around 20 more or less.

4. Cocky

Nov 15, 2007
    Georgetown, SC
    Where exactly are you?

5. scgamecock

Jan 18, 2008
    Conway SC
    Bucksport SC.It's between Conway and Georgetown.I don't really have any room right now but if my egg sales pick up I may build another pen later.

6. Cocky

Nov 15, 2007
    Georgetown, SC
    If you sell your eggs, my hens are really good layers. I dont know what their chicks would do, but out of 9 hens I have gotten 7-9 eggs a day all winter. (I was really surprised)

My wife and I give away a LOT of eggs.